Well, that’s one way to get out of a workout: Frozen caveman

This morning I went to the ISC to get in 1500-2000 yards. I did a 400 yard time trial in 5:25. Just as I finished up 900 yards the facility sirens went off. Staff members scrambled telling everyone to get out…including those of us in the pool. I grabbed my towel and headed for the doors. I stepped out into the grey morning to the stark realization that I was dripping wet, naked except for my tri shorts and a towel, and barefooted – as were the rest of the swimmers. It was 24 degrees. They kept us out there for about 15 minutes. A kind triatlete in Ironman gear eventually handed me a jacket. Others followed his lead and started pulling clothing and shoes from their bags to give to other shivering swimmers. Well, that’s one way to get out of a workout.
Yesterday I went and ran with Bruce C. We did a total of 30 minutes as follows:
5 min warmup
30 sec fast/30 sec ez/ 60 sec fast / 120 sec. ez – repeat x 4
8 min cool down
Average HR was 171. The fast portions were at 6:30 pace / ez portions at 8:00 pace

Here are some new pics: (sorry, some are blurry for some reason)
new-pics-001
Izzy on awards day at gymnastics
new-pics-003
Kate’s first pair of blue jeans
new-pics-0091
Max “out of pocket” feels better
new-pics-007
little sister is happy to have brother home

One response to “Well, that’s one way to get out of a workout: Frozen caveman

  1. Unfrozen Caveman Athlete. That does not sound fun.

Leave a Reply

