Swim and saying farewell to an Ironman

I attended the visitation for a good friend last night. Today I’ll attend the funeral. Several of us will follow on the funeral processional on our bikes. He would have loved that. He was a father, husband, and friend. He’s gone way too soon. See you on the other side, Jon.  Here’s your M-dot; you earned it Ironman.

logo-ironman

I train in 4 week increments, going hard/building for 3 weeks and then taking a 1 week break during which I scale my workouts back to about half the normal duration. This week is my scale back week. Good timing as I have alot going on this week.

I did get a short swim in this morning. Here you go:

Warm up

2 x 100yd Any Stroke (even pace), rest 0:15 / 100yd

Build up

8 x 50yd Single Arm with fins (arm out front) 6 x left, 6 x right, 6 x full stroke, rest 0:15 / 50yd

Core

4 x 50yd Freestyle Swim, target time 00:36 / 50yd, rest 0:15 / 50yd
4 x 100yd Freestyle Swim, target time 01:10 / 100yd, rest 0:20 / 100yd
2 x 200yd Freestyle Swim, target time 02:20 / 200yd, rest 0:30 / 200yd
2 responses to “Swim and saying farewell to an Ironman

  1. That’s awful…was it an accident or disease?

  2. Tragic accident. I’ll tell you about it over the phone or in person.

Leave a Reply

