Gatti vs. Ward

I just read today that a major motion picture will be filmed about the life of “Irish” Micky Ward. His fight triology with Arturo Gatti is, in my mind, the greatest fighting rivalry of all time. The film will star Mark Wahlberg (my 2nd fave actor) as Micky Ward and Brad Pitt (another favorite) as Micky’s older brother.

In honor of Micky Ward and Arturo Gatti check out the HBO produced prefight hype that aired before Gatti-Ward III. Unbelievable fights!

4 responses to “Gatti vs. Ward

  1. I heard this movie was in discussion. Did they give a time table? Mickey Ward was one of my favorite boxers. 100% heart.

  2. Best I can tell it was set to begin filming in the fall.

  3. I’m surprised they didn’t mention what could be thought of as the “dual trilogy” of Jake LaMotta and Sugar Ray Robinson, which Robinson won 5 to 1.

  4. Update:
    I read yesterday that the movie will star Mark Wahlberg and Matt Damon. I have to say, I think Damon is a better pick than Pitt for the older brother.

Leave a Reply

