Who do you think you are?

When we come of age we all have visions of who we think we’ll be. At 20 I thought I would be a famous writer by my 30’s, the sort that swaggers into readings and signings. The kind that smells of alcohol and cigarettes – swooning, secretely beautiful, bookish girls in my wake. I suppose it’s how we see ourselves that matters most. Late in the evenings, pecking feverishly at a keyboard and lamenting “the forlorn rags of growing old,” I’m still Kerouac searching for that pearl that will be handed to me at the end of the road.

This is who I thought I would be:

Who did you think you would be?

5 responses to “Who do you think you are?

  1. Man, why don’t they bring back a TV show with this kind of format! Authors reading their own work while a live jazz band plays in the background? Can’t get much better than that.

  2. Even as young as 6, I thought I would be a writer. I still have the first book I wrote in second grade and at the end I put that when I grew up, I wanted to be “an author”. Somewhere along the way, I lost it. Even after the encouragement of my English professors in College. I thought that writing wouldn’t get me to the ocean, where I really wanted to be – so I tried roundabout ways to get there, and never did. Looking back, maybe that is the only thing that ever would have. I couldn’t be a writer – so I married one. And it’s still in him, he’s just finding himself. No good writer ever thought they were – especially this one.

  3. I thought I would be an actor on Broadway winning a Tony Award for best actor in a musical by the time I was 30.

    Instead I am a married father of one (two if you count our long haired miniature dachshund) and could not be any happier.

    Sometimes life doesn’t give you what you want…it gives you something better.

  4. I want it all: the family AND my dreams.

  5. Mother Teresa –
    There was so much wisdom and heart in every word she spoke and every act she performed. I think she knew the solutions that would eliminate world hunger and create world peace; it was in the way she lived. I always wanted to be her. Work in the slums of Calcutta and yet dine with the leaders of the world.

Leave a Reply

