Modest Mouse: We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank

weweredeadbeforetheshipevensank.jpg 

I’ve been waiting on this one for some time and I’m not disappointed.  Isaac Brock’s quirky yelps and mid lyric freak outs still take center stage here. There are a few more melody’s than the old school Modest Mouse fan base is used to, but that isn’t a bad thing. It’s called evolution friends. Granted, I’ve only been on the Modest Mouse bus since The Moon and Antarctica (which was genius), but I don’t see this band sliding backwards since they signed with a major label for that record.  Good News for People Who Love Bad News was solid – ah what the heck…it was great too.

 We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank is rollicking seafaring adventure with a madman. Call it a trip with Captain Ahab across a modern rock sea.

More.

6 responses to “Modest Mouse: We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank

  1. I’ve been enjoying the new album myself. Like you, I’ve only been along for the MM ride since The Moon and Antarctica but when I married my husband he came with a whole bunch of older Modest Mouse albums. That’s one of the better parts of marriage/shackin’ up – the merging of the music collections.
    I found your site when I Googled “death cab for cutie atlanta poster”. We were at the Fox Theater show and I didn’t even think to pick up a poster. I saw you had written a post on looking for one yourself. Did you find one or just find the artist who made it?

  2. Erin, thanks for commenting. No, I never did find a poster for that Atlanta show. That reminds me though that I’ve got to get a poster when I see the Decemberists in a couple of weeks.

  3. What show are you going to? We are going to the Atlanta show at the The Tabernacle on April 6th and I can’t wait! And yes, a poster is most definitely in order.
    Then just a few weeks after Decemberists we have tickets for Arcade Fire at the Atlanta Civic Center. I loved “Funeral” but now with “Neon Bible” I can’t even imagine how good that show will be.

  4. We’ll be at the Nashville show on the 5th. Some buds and I are toying with the idea of making the trip to Atlanta for that Arcade Fire show. “Neon Bible” is so good.

  5. I liked “Neon Bible” at first listen, but it is one of those albums that I enjoy more and more each time I hear it.
    You’ll have to give a review of the Nashville show. I’m glad I found your site – I’ll definitely have to visit again (and give you a heads up if I ever track down that DCFC Fox Theater poster).

  6. I have been blown away by MM’s “We were dead…” It is amazing. Definitely more popish sound than another MM album, but very solid. I have recently moved to a town where the band of choice is ACDC, so I will not have the pleasure of hearing what hardcore MM fans say about the album. Like most hardcore fans I think they will dislike it at first. I can’t stop listening to it, the last song finishing and I search the iPod, usually coming back to play the album over again. This is perfect, I was looking for a good spring time album because when I listen to the album in the future, I will be reminded of melting snow and budding trees.

    On another note I think someone should write a book on the one liners that Isaac comes up with “Our ideas didn’t hold any water, but we used them like a damn” plus many other on this album and others.

    Keep up the good work with this website.

Leave a Reply

