Finally! I have a show!

futurama.jpg 

I have a coworker who has been counseling me towards finding a show I can watch. I’ve mentioned before that I don’t really watch tv – that includes 24, Lost, The Office, etc. For some reason this bothers people. I just don’t get how people find time to sit down regularly and watch television. I hit the sack around 9:30 and doze off watching whatever sport happens to be in season.

Lately though, I’ve realized that there are a few shows that catch my attention and I end up watching when I see them; Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe and Futurama. I’ve been drinking caffeine in the afternoons lately; that’s helping me stay awake until 10:30 or so. Inevitably I find the tv on Cartoon Network and Futurama from 10:00-10:30. As I’m crashing for the day I don’t want to think too much. Futurama is perfect. It’s funny. It delivers my favorite brand of humor – backhanded social commentary.

A few weeks ago I saw an episode where Fry is dating a robot. Technology has finally made advancements to allow humans to choose their perfect mate. I wont’ spend much time giving the details, but it ends badly for Fry. A week later I heard Nancy Miller from Wired Magazine saying that the technology is under development to create this exact thing (was she kidding?). She didn’t mention Futurama. Pity.

2 responses to “Finally! I have a show!

  1. That is funny! After searching and searching and thinking and thinking…I never would have thought of that for you! Now you will just have to convince some of us here that we need to watch it so you can talk about. 🙂

  2. I remember watching Futurama way back in the day…was it part of the Fox Sunday line up? If memory serves I think there is a time where Bender lights some flatulence on fire. You’ll enjoy that one for sure!

Leave a Reply

