Arcade Fire: Neon Bible

neon.jpg

It’s been a solid week now since I got my hands on Arcade Fire’s 2nd album and highly anticipated release “Neon Bible”. Sure, we all thought “Funeral” was about as close to perfection as an indie band could come. It was a masterpiece of brooding-thumping-melancholy floating on images of loss and regret like the ghost of your insane great uncle. “Neon Bible” is better. That’s right…you heard me….”Neon Bible” is better, darker, more mysterious, more dangerous.

Understand this, The Figurehead believes that Jesus Christ died for my sins. My family is Christ centered. Now, with that said, since adolescence I’ve always kept my distance from “religion”. While in certain places and circumstances organized religion is sincere and meaningful, there are other places and circumstances in which it is not. It’s the distance seperating those that keeps me at arms length and those who need God’s peace from seeking it. When non believers look at our lives do they see our God or our religion? “Neon Bible” explores these ideas and delivers a slap in the face for those who need it. I love wake up calls for those who are sleep walking through their belief systems.

If you don’t have this album get it today!

Neon Bible

Buy It

5 responses to “Arcade Fire: Neon Bible

  1. I’ve never commented on this blog before; though I follow it closely. I agree with you Figurehead; this is a great album with many facets and a depth that seems to grow as you explore it. And while I am concerned with some music listeners misunderstanding the surface of these lyrics; I totally agree with you that there is a world of difference between God and religion; therefore, I’m enjoying watching religiosity get a much needed body slam.

  2. I wish you were here to be in my Bible study. The subject you bring up is very interesting to me as I try to “be a Christian” in my thirties with a daughter.

  3. Hands down better than original…and that’s saying ALOT.

  4. “I’ve always kept my distance from “religion”. While in certain places and circumstances organized religion is sincere and meaningful, there are other places and circumstances in which it is not.”

    Very Interesting kind of mirrors my thoughts.

  5. Very interesting comments. I offer my opinion which is of little consequense. I think any human institution is faux finished, metaphoric, or symbolic. The christian church is run by 2 kinds- those who seek to seize God’s power on earth and then those who are trying to keep that from happening. and the second of those have finally given up and retreated. But Those people who understand art, literature, the need for symbol, conflict, narrative, the attempt to be better than we are and the communicative comfort all that brings will see that Studying art, theology, stories, and music can break the bonds of religion as master and then religion bcomes a tool – a beautiful and magnificent art form. It is as true as the artist using it. I can’t wait to hear the album.

Leave a Reply

