Marina del Rey, Venice Beach, Santa Monica, Crushed Dreams, Comedians, Politicians, and Californication

venice-beach.jpg 

Sorry for the delay in posts; as you know from my last post I was in Los Angeles for a few days. Make sure you read Hampton’s posts on The Figurehead vs. The Giant Chocolate Cake at Gladstones in Malibu. What a time! As I said before, my company treats us great and everthing we do is first class. Friday morning I sat at a table with Fred Thompson and listened to Dennis Miller talk about his soon to start talk radio program. Funny stuff…Mr. Thompson seemed to enjoy it as well. If Thompson becomes our next president that’ll be an even better story to share with my grandkids one day.

I ran every morning from our hotel in Marina del Rey up to Santa Monica. I’d listen to Californication by The Chili Peppers each morning as I passed through Venice Beach. That is quite possibly the saddest place on earth. I’d love to know the stories of those sad souls asleep on the beach, setting up their art displays (amateurish paintings of naked women and clowns on plywood), sloppily strumming a guitar, etc. At one time those people had dreams. That’s likely how they’ve ended up in their current predicaments asleep on Venice Beach at 6:00 am. I’m not naive enough to think that many of them aren’t there because of their own foolish mistakes or laziness. It still hurts though. Crushed dreams are among the coldest realities of our existance. Seeing them each time I’m out there makes me appreciate my life even more. While they shared 40 oz of Old English on the beach I was dining at the Beverly Hilton that night, feeling thankful and a bit guilty at the same time.

I have lots of stuff to post about, but I wanted to blast this one out real quick to let you all know I’m back and will be posting again.

2 responses to “Marina del Rey, Venice Beach, Santa Monica, Crushed Dreams, Comedians, Politicians, and Californication

  1. Chad-
    BT and I saw David Lee Roth with a couple of body guards riding around on Beach Cruisers way back in 1985 at Venice Beach. With MTV blowing up at the time there was no one bigger in 1985 than David Lee Roth but the Venice locales were irate and were yelling at him to “Get out Venice now!” Coming from the midwest I would have thought that everyone liked Mr. Karate Kick especially in California but I couldn’t have been more wrong. It’s funny how everyone has this perception of California instilled into them from the media but it’s so wrong.

    I can’t believe you were sitting at the same table with Fred Thompson (Why doesn’t he run for president!) and Dennis Miller sometimes I really envy you radio guys.

  2. Great memory on Venice Beach. Blake and I are out there back in June of ’99. My first time at Venice Beach. I have on shorts, tennis shoes and t-shirt. It’s stinkin’ hot. I take off my shirt and tie it around my head like a doo rag. I was tired of wearing my shoes so I tied each one to my belt loops on my shorts. Blake would no longer walk with me (embarrased to be seen with this freak) so I laid down on the grass to watch the roller skaters on acid do their thing. Fell asleep on the grass and woke up 3 hours later. I’m sure I fit right in with the 40 oz Old English drinkers.

Leave a Reply

