Founding Fathers Friday: The Smiths

That’s right! The Figurehead is renaming “Retro Friday” and relaunching as “Founding Fathers Friday.” It’s a more fitting title in my mind and I think the word “retro” is played out and indicates that something is only still good in a nostalgia sort of way. This week – Episode 3: The Smiths

“Stop Me if You Think You’ve Heard This One Before”

“Girlfriend in a Coma”

Man, I wish I could find my old Morrissey tshirt from the 80s!

Previous Founding Fathers Friday artists: The Cure, REM.

4 responses to “Founding Fathers Friday: The Smiths

  1. Great pick and great song selections! Love The Smiths!

  2. The first time I heard the Smiths was on the Pretty in Pink Soundtrack along with New Order and INXS. Before that album I was really only into U2 and REM. It’s funny how back in the day a good soundtrack album could get you hooked on so many new bands.

  3. I’ve got a copy of a guy named Joshua Radin doing “Girlfriend in a Coma.” I had no idea it was a Smiths tune originally. Thanks Figurehead, for helping me to be less ignorant!

  4. you should have gone with the more snappy, “Founders Friday”

Leave a Reply

