The Chili Peppers still rock!

red-hot-chili-peppers-ta01.jpg 

I think the Red Hot Chili Peppers get a bad rap sometimes from indie rock scenesters. Sure, their albums have been increasingly marketed to the mainstream for a long time now, but so what.

I was fortunate enough to see the boys do their thing last night in Nashville. I’ve been listening to The Red Hot Chili Peppers since I was 15. It’s hard to believe I didn’t see them live until I was 32 years old (“GASP! TheFigurehead just revealed part of his secret identity). Honestly, I was expecting them to be horrible. I’ve read numerous accounts of them not being very good live. Two songs into the show I realized how great they sounded. It was near perfection; Flea, John, and Chad sounded great as always, but even Keidis was perfect.

I told a buddy of mine at the show that it’s hard to believe they were playing in front a few hundred skaters at a time 20 years ago. My how things have changed! The Gaylord Entertainment Center was sold out. A huge light show, and jumbo tvs filled the place with energy. The only thing that would have made it even better would have been “Fight Like a Brave.”

Bravo Chili Peppers. You guys still rock!

Thanks to my boy CT for the tickets (private suite with all the amenities!)

Leave a Reply

