Three Imaginary Boys revisited

young-robert.jpg 

You’ve probably guessed that The Figurehead is a huge Cure fan. I always have been; ever since I bought my very first CD – Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me. I already had several Cure cassettes at that point.

Today I purchased the Three Imaginary Boys Deluxe Edition from itunes. This is the kind of stuff that I would have gone nuts over in the late 80’s! I mean…a Robert Smith home demo of 10:15 Saturday night!?!? This is Robert and what sounds like a Casio mumbling a quieter slower paced classic. There are other home demos on this edition as well. Tracks that didn’t make the cut for the original Three Imaginary Boys or Boys Don’t Cry (some of these hint at the gloomier Cure that would later emerge).

Want to know what the Cure sounded like before Interpol, Editors, and other soundalikes were even born? Listen HERE!

2 responses to “Three Imaginary Boys revisited

  1. Great stuff man!

  2. that album always struck me as being largely influenced by Hendrix, but over the years, I’ve discovered that there’s far more of Pink Floyd in The Cure than just about any thing else.

    I remember driving an hour to wait for the record store to open when kiss me came out. I bought two copies of that LP (one for my then-girlfriend) and one copy of 3 imaginary boys (also on LP) that day. I still have them 🙂

    when I get a good job, I’m planning on getting all the re-issued cds. I can’t wait 🙂

    you might be interested, I just posted a link to some awesome Cocteau Twins concerts on my blog.

    and, I know it’s there, but I can’t find it now – but recently I saw a very old clip of the cure playing a song in Robert’s house. It was one of the best clips I’ve seen…but can’t remember the song right now. It’s on youtube somewhere though.

Leave a Reply

